Hyundai Kona Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new here and it is my first time posting. I have 2020 Kona SEL Plus that had 2.0 L Engine. The car started stalling, i.e., engine shuts off and the lights on the panel come up as if you are just staring the engine, back in December 2020. Engine shutting off became so pronounced that it happened every time the car comes to a slow speed. We brought it in to the dealer and dealer fixed it by replacing Cam and CVVT. The car was fine for a while.

The same problem started recuring in May 2021. At this time, the car had ~8000 miles on it. We brought it into the dealer on 6/2 and a few days later the dealer told us that they needed to replace the engine. They added that this could take up to 6 months because they needed approval from Hyundai Corporate, and there was no way to see how long it takes. Of course, they did not provide a loaner since there are 12 other people in front of me. (I realized that I was dealing with Hyundai, not Mercedes.) Anyhow, I got off the phone, and right away, wrote to Hyundai Corporate and demanded an immediate resolution. Oddly enough, Hyundai Corporate was very responsive, and I got an agent assigned right way. Unfortunately, it took a week or more since then to actually talk to the agent, but I was pleasantly surprised that I could not reach ANYONE at the dealer but I was getting email responses from Hyundai Corporate pretty much immediately.

To make a long story short, while this was going on, I did not get any calls/updates from the dealer but was talking to Hyundai Corporate and getting the update. Actually, Hyundai Corporate reimburses you for $38/day for rental cars, which the dealer did not mention.