Hyundai Kona Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all and nice to meet you. Name's Sam, from MD, USA. I purchased a Surf Blue Limited AWD Kona recently. So far, it's been great. I even managed to stuff a Queen-sized mattress platform in it somehow LOL.

I loved how nimble and not-SUV the Kona felt when I drove it.

A little about me: I have a background in mechanic work, I have some (~6 years) experience of performance modification and ECU tuning. My previous car was a 6th Gen Toyota Celica with it's original 2.2L 5SFE engine modified internally and externally to reach around 350 wheel horsepower with a turbo. It was a street-driven, daily driver with a/c and all.

My near-future plans for the Kona are aesthetic mods: either 18 or 19 inch aftermarket wheels, I will probably do lowering springs when they become available but would prefer to do coilovers so that it's just a matter of lowering for the summer and raising for the winter, and the added handling benefit that comes with them.

Also a few bolt on engine mods like turbo resonator delete pipe, intake, blow off valve and a muffler change, and a tune to take advantage of 93 octane fuel and possibly even e85. I wouldn't like to go all out on this car like I did on my Celica because it will be my only car for the next few years. But I do want it to make a bit more noise.

I hope to meet others that are of the same mindset as me on this forum. ?

Attachments

·
Banned
1,278 Posts
Mahalo and Welcome!