Hyundai Kona Forum banner

1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got my 2019 Kona Ultimate with FWD back from the having the dual clutch transmission replaced. I wanted to share the experience with all of you, since there has been some discussion about the way the DCT is different from a normal transmission with a torque converter.

First, I am not a car expert and I picked the Kona for its sporty feel, small footprint and solid tech package. I loved the way it drove coming off the lot, but did start noticing early on that the transmission didn't drive like I am used to. I read on this forun and from other sources that the DCT is unique, so I chalked up my uneven starts, delayed acceleration and engine revving to my own sorry driving. The problems got worse and I was finding myself slowing down in the middle of busy intersections with a revving engine. Then about a month ago, with under 4K on the odometer, I got an email from Hyundai Blue Link with the subject 'AUTOMATIC DTC Notification' and a message warning of 'A possible condition with your Transmission Control System....A full system check is recommended...' You get the idea.

After a trip to the dealership and 3 weeks in a loaner, I have a car that functions better than it ever did. No more hesitations on start. Shifting is perfectly smooth and acceleration is so quick that I forget to put it into Sport mode. According to the paperwork they gave me, the transmission was not entering 1st or 5th gears. Looking back, the behavior was exactly like driving a manual transmission and trying to start in 2nd gear.

If any of you are having similar issues, I strongly recommend that you have the transmission checked. When it works, it is fabulous. No more complaints here.

·
Registered
14 Posts